Atari 2600 Friday’s #33 – Adventure

It’s … ‘Adventure’ Time!

The Story: A nameless hero in a nameless kingdom. An evil magician has stolen an enchanted chalice. You must find and return it.

From the Manual: “An evil magician has stolen the Enchanted Chalice and has hidden it
somewhere in the Kingdom. The object of the game is to rescue the
Enchanted Chalice and place it inside the Golden Castle where it belongs.

This is no easy task, as the Evil Magician has created three Dragons to hinder
you in your quest for the Golden Chalice. There is Yorgie, the Yellow Dragon,
who is just plain mean; there is Grundle, the Green Dragon, who is mean and
ferocious; and there is Rhindle, the Red Dragon, who is the most ferocious of
all. Rhindle is also the fastest Dragon and is the most difficult to outmaneuver.

There are three castles in the Kingdom; the White Castle, the Black Castle,
and the Golden Castle. Each castle has a Gate over the entrance. The Gate
can be opened with the corresponding colored Key. Inside each Castle are
rooms(or dungeons, depending at which Skill Level you are playing).

The Castles are separated by rooms, pathways, and labyrinths. Common to
all the Skill Levels is the Blue Labyrinth through which you must find your
way to the Black Castle.”

From the Box: Nothing on the box. Quite surprising for an adventure game like this. I’m curious why they chose to leave it blank.

The Game Play: Look at the screenshot below, you are the square, that is your character. When you stat the game, you should see a key and a castle. Open the castle and claim the sword. You pick up items simply by moving over them. It must be of note that you can only carry one item at a time. You must pass through a blue labyrinth to get to  a black castle. Behind this is the grey dungeon, the chalice is hidden here guarded by the red dragon. There are 3 dragons, Yorgle (the yellow dragon) Grundle (the green dragon) and Rhindle (the red dragon) , one in each castle. Each castle requires a key of the same color to open the gate. There is also a Bat that will fly around, pick up items (and dragons), and swap items. Interestingly enough, the Evil Magician is not eve in the game, you will never see him. You (and any slain dragons) can be reincarnated if you get eaten but all items will stay where they were, just press the reset switch.

Adventure also contains the first ever Easter Egg in a video game. If you place a certain invisible item in a certain spot you will get the creators, Warren Robinett, name to appear on screen. This was something he did in a time where it was taboo to give individuals credit for their games.

The Controls: Up/Down/Left/Right/Diagonal movement. Red button drops objects.

Post Review: As everyone knows, my game mode switch is broken and what this does is limit me to one game mode which is Mode 1. Mode 1 of adventure only has 2 dragons instead of three, and only has the blue labyrinth and the black castle. The dragons on this mode run away from the sword. Also, the dragons will latch onto you, but you can move away fairly easy before they bite you. Higher game modes have all three dragons and up to three labyrinths and castles.

The High Score: I was able to complete mode one on my first try in about 2 minutes using a map of the game.


Posted on August 7, 2015, in Atari 2600 Friday's, Blogroll and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: